Faculty Spotlight:

Jan Van der Spiegel

Jan Van der Spiegel
Professor of Electrical and Systems Engineering
Rachleff Scholars Program

Jan's Systems research focuses on the use of top-down nanotechnology in the design of intelligent sensors and sensory processing systems.  He is primarily engaged in researching low-power analog and digital integrated circuits for intelligent sensors, data acquisition, and sensory data processing systems. He has done considerable work on image sensors that are modeled after the biological vision system.  Jan is currently focused on imagers with on-chip analog-to-digital converters, and on sensors for polarization imaging by combining micro/nano polarizer arrays with CMOS imager technology.




Faculty Committees

Academic Year 2017-18

Jump to:
Standing Committees: [ Faculty Council | Faculty Personnel | Undergraduate Affairs | Graduate Affairs | Academic Performance | Academic Freedom and Responsibility | Information Resources | SEAS ABET ]
University Committees: [ Graduate Council of the Faculties | SEAS Faculty Affirmative Action/President's Affirmative Action Council | Faculty Senate Executive Committee ]

Dean's Committees

Administrative Committee
Vijay Kumar (Chair), Robert Carpick, Russell Composto, Zachary Ives, David F. Meaney, George J. Pappas, Kathleen Stebe, Thomas Stump, John Vohs, Karen Winey (Shu Yang, Chair, Faculty Personnel Committee, ex officio).

Scope: Advises the Dean in matters of planning, budgets, and personnel. Serves as the primary communications link between the departments and the administration of the School.

Standing Committees

Faculty Council

Ritesh Agarwal (one-year term), John Bassani (two-year term), Daeyeon Lee (one-year term), Ani Nenkova (two-year term), Prashant Purohit (one-year term),  Talid Sinno (two-year term), Vijay Kumar, Russ Composto,  Shu Yang, Chair, Faculty Personnel Committee, ex officio.

Scope: Serves as the elected Executive Committee of the Faculty and acts on all matters that require decisions between Faculty meetings; communicates the sentiments, wishes, and grievances of the Faculty to the administrative officers of the School; continuously examines the state of the School and makes recommendations to the Dean and Department Chairs on any matter involving the School or the University; advises the Dean in matters of long-range planning.

Faculty Personnel Committee
Shu Yang (Chair), John Crocker,, André DeHon, Dan Hammer, Jennifer Lukes; (Alternates: Jonathan Smith, Kevin Turner,  Rakesh Vohra).

Scope: Considers Faculty appointment, promotion, and tenure cases to determine the academic qualifications of the candidate for membership on the Faculty at the rank proposed. Makes recommendations to the Dean in accordance with established University procedures.

Undergraduate Affairs Committee
Russ Composto (chair), Andrew Tsourkas (BE), Wen Shieh (CBE), Andreas Haeberlen (CIS), André DeHon (ESE), Dave Pope (MSE), Paulo Arratia (MEAM), Nick Stiansen  (EDAB Representative, non-voting),   Sonya Gwak (ex-officio)

Scope: Recommends to the Faculty all matters concerning undergraduate students and their education. This shall include courses and curricula, new educational programs, and undergraduate student recruiting and admissions. This committee is also responsible for supervising the selection of student award recipients by the Faculty.

Graduate Affairs Committee
Kate Stebe (Chair), Ravi Radhakrishnan (BE),  John Crocker (CBE),  Lyle Ungar (CIS), Alejandro Ribeiro (ESE), Kevin Turner (MEAM), David Srolovitz (MSE), Zack Ives (RAS), Alyse Edwrds (RAS), Gavin Tse (EMAB Representative, non-voting), Hari Ramachandran (GSEG Representative, non-voting), S. Gwak (ex officio), Betty Gentner (ex-officio).

Scope: Recommends to the Faculty all matters concerning graduate students and their education. This shall include recommendation of courses and curricula, recruiting and admissions, and matters concerning student academic progress.

Academic Performance Committee

Russ Composto, Chair; Brian Chow (BE), Wen Shieh (CBE), Stephanie Weirich (CIS), Lee Bassett (ESE), Dave Pope (MSE), Paulo Arratia (MEAM), Sonya Gwak (ex-officio), Ellen Eckert (ex-officio).

Acts for the Faculty on all matters concerning the education, status, and records of undergraduate students, including the interpretation of and exceptions to the B.S.E./B.A.S. curricula requirements. Actions of this Committee may be appealed to the Faculty Council acting for the Faculty. Actions of the Committee are reported to the Faculty by the Associate Dean and are considered to be approved by the Faculty unless specific action is taken at the next meeting of the Faculty or unless an appeal to the Council is pending. Copies of the Minutes of the Academic Performance Committee shall be available to all members of the Faculty.

Standing Committee on Academic Freedom and Responsibility
P. K. Davies (Chair), D. Pope, M. Mintz  (W. D. Seider and G. Buchsbaum, Alternates)

Scope: Recommends to the Faculty action in any case involving an alleged violation of academic freedom or responsibility; normally acts only when a formal complaint is made.

SEAS ABET Committee
Sue Ann Bidstrup Allen,Chair (CBE Representative), LeAnn Dourte (BE), Arjun Raj (BE),       CJ Taylor (CIS), Andre DeHon (ESE), David Pope (MSE), Howard Hu (MEAM)

Scope:  Assesses and evaluates core academic programs in compliance with the guidelines of the Accreditation Board for Engineering and Technology (ABET).

University Committees

(where School Faculty/Dean appointment is required)

Graduate Council of the Faculties
R. J. Gorte  (SEAS Faculty-elected Representative).

Scope: Advises the Provost through the Deputy Provost on policy matters regarding graduate education and determines, as Faculty representatives, the University-wide basic standards for admission and degree requirements.

SEAS Diversity Search Advisors/President's Affirmative Action Council
Andrew Tsourkas (BE),  Talid Sinno (CBE), CJ Taylor (CIS), Saswati Sarkar (ESE), Jennifer Lukes (MEAM),  Vivek Shenoy MSE)

Scope: Monitors affirmative action and equal opportunity in employment without discrimination on the basis of race, sex, sexual orientation, religion, color, national or ethnic origin, age, disability, or status as a Vietnam Era Veteran or disabled Veteran.

Faculty Senate Executive Committee
(To be selected)

Faculty-elected Representative of Constituency #18 - BE, CBE, MSE, MEAM and
Faculty-elected Representative of Constituency #19 - CIS, ESE.