Faculty Senate to Have Back-to-Back Chairs from Penn Engineering

For the first time in the 60-year history of the University of Pennsylvania Faculty Senate, Chairs for the next two consecutive academic years will be standing faculty from Penn Engineering. Susan S. Margulies, George H. Stephenson Term Chair in Bioengineering and Professor of Bioengineering, will serve as the Chair of the Faculty Senate for the 2012-13 academic year. Dwight L. Jaggard, Professor in Electrical and Systems Engineering, will serve as Chair-Elect for the 2012-13 academic year and will serve as Chair for the 2013-14 academic year.

The University of Pennsylvania Faculty Senate was established by the Trustees of the University, at faculty request, in 1952. The Senate is recognized in the Statutes of the University as the body in which full-time teaching faculty members may “discuss and express their views upon any matter they deem to be of general interest to the faculty.” The University of Pennsylvania Faculty Senate is a University-wide deliberative body; as such it normally considers issues which engage the attention of the faculty as a whole. The membership of the Senate expresses its views and exerts its influence on the life of the University in many ways, all of which are aimed at the goal of the faculty being the principal determinant of the intellectual direction of the University.

Return to News Features