Jan Van der Spiegel

University of Pennsylvania
Moore School of Electrical Engineering
School of Engineering and Applied Science

Department of Electrical and Systems Engineering

Google Scholar website







Short CV Projects Publications Teaching


Jan Van der Spiegel is a Professor of the Electrical and Systems Engineering Department at the University of Pennsylvania and Senior Visiting Professor at Tsinghua University (2017-2018). He is the former Associate Dean for Professional Programs of the School of Engineering and Applied Science at the University of Pennsylvania, and also the former chair of the Electrical Engineering and interim chair of the Electrical and Systems Engineering Departments. Dr. Van der Spiegel received his Master's degree in Electro-Mechanical Engineering and his Ph.D. degree in Electrical Engineering from the University of Leuven, Belgium. His primary research interests are in mixed-mode VLSI design, CMOS vision sensors for polarization imaging, biologically based image sensors and sensory information processing systems, low-power brain-machine-interfaces, and micro-sensor technology. He is the author of over 200 journal and conference papers and holds 4 patents.

He is a live fellow of the IEEE and recipient of the 2007 EAB Major Educational Innovation Award. He received the IEEE Third Millennium Medal, the UPS Foundation Distinguished Education Chair and the Bicentennial Class of 1940 Term Chair. He was awarded the Christian and Mary Lindback Foundation, and the S. Reid Warren Award for Distinguished Teaching, and the Presidential Young Investigator Award. 

He has served on several IEEE program committees (IEDM, ICCD, ISCAS and ISSCC) and was the technical program chair of the 2007 International Solid-State Circuit Conference (ISSCC 2007). He is an associate editor of the IEEE Transactions on Biomedical Circuits and Systems (TBCAS), is on the Editorial Board of the Proceedings of the IEEE and Sensors and Actuators A, and is the Section Editor of the Journal of Engineering of the Institute of Engineering and Technology. He is a member of the IEEE Solid-State Circuits Society where he served as the chapters Chairs coordinator. He is the 2016-2017 President of the IEEE Solid-State Circuits Society. He is also a member of Phi Beta Delta and Tau Beta Pi.

Updated: January 18, 2018