VETERANS @ PENN

 

 

Resources and News for Military Veterans & Active Duty Service Members @ Penn.

.

Since the College of Philadelphia became the University of Pennsylvania in 1779, Penn men and women have served in America’s military from the Revolution to the present.

.

The goal of Veterans at Penn is to provide support, resources, networking, and information for military veteran and active duty students, faculty, and staff at theUniversity of Pennsylvania.

RESOURCES
UNIVERSITY OF PENNSYLVANIA MILITARY VETERANS ASSOCIATION (UPMVA) www.facebook.com/groups/129961750522431/
UPenn Veterans Upward Bound Program www.vpul.upenn.edu/aap/vub/
UPenn Yellow Ribbon Program @ Penn www.upenn.edu/registrar/yellow-ribbon.html
Steven A. Cohen Military Family Clinic at Penn www.med.upenn.edu/mfc/
UPenn Wharton Veterans Club http://clubs.wharton.upenn.edu/veterans/index.htm
UPenn Program in Mental Health Education Assessment, Recovery, & Leadership for Social Workers Program - providing specialized training focusing on the recognition, assessment, and treatment responses to mental and behavioral health symptoms manifested by veterans and their families. www.sp2.upenn.edu/pearls/index.html

Veterans are encouraged to access the Penn In Washington web page @ https://piw.sas.upenn.edu/ for information re: internships, alumni mentoring, and other opportunities in our nation's Capital.

UPenn Law School Pro Bono Service Members & Veterans' Legal Assistance

https://www.law.upenn.edu/publicservice/pro-bono/student-projects.php#service

Philadelphia Vet Center www2.va.gov/directory/guide/facility.asp?id=590
Philadelphia VA Medical Center www.philadelphia.va.gov/
Philadelphia VA Regional Office www.vba.va.gov/ro/philly/Index.htm
Four Block - Veteran Career Readiness fourblock.org/
Higher Education Resources for Veterans www.onlinecollegesdatabase.org/online-college-resources-for-veterans/
Switch - a career transition blog for veterans by veterans http://switchstarter.wordpress.com/
Click here for info re: housing assistance, legal assistance,  temporary financial assistance & assistance with applying for VA benefits
Veterans Posse Program www.possefoundation.org/veterans-posse-program: the goal of this program is to increase the rate at which veterans attend and graduate from selective colleges & universities
Student Veterans of America www.studentveterans.org/
National Veterans Foundation www.nvf.org
BestColleges.com College Guide for Servicemembers & Veterans www.bestcolleges.com/resources/college-guide-servicemembers-and-veterans/
BestColleges.com College Financial Aid Guide for Servicemembers & Veterans www.bestcolleges.com/financial-aid/military/
Military Assistance Project (legal/financial services) www.militaryassistanceproject.org/
Vets4Veterans www.vets4veterans.com/
Greater Philadelphia Veterans Network www.linkedin.com/groups?mostPopular=&gid=3069831
Center for Minority Veterans www.va.gov/centerforminorityveterans/
Center for Women Veterans www1.va.gov/womenvet/
Click here for Troops to Teachers info; more info & application @ www.proudtoserveagain.com/
Operation Home & Healing www.operationhomeandhealing.org/
Greater Philadelphia Veterans Network www.gpvn.org/
Philadelphia Bar Association Military & Veterans Assistance Program www.philadelphiabar.org/page/MAP                                                                                                         
Commit Foundation - assisting with veterans' transition to the professional civilian world commitfoundation.org/transitions/
American Corporate Partners (connecting veterans & business leaders) acp-usa.org/
Mentor Vet - www.mentorvet.org/  - a web-based program that matches student veterans with mentors from industry.
The Mission Continues - empowering post 9/11 veterans to transition to leadership positions missioncontinues.org/home

Veterans & Mesothelioma - www.mesothelioma.com/veterans/

& Asbestos.com www.asbestos.com/veterans/

Fiscal resources for veterans www.creditcardinsider.com/resources/veterans-and-debt/
Click here for a brief history of US Military Veterans @ the University of Pennsylvania
Click here to contact the Veterans@Penn committee
.

.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
EVENTS

THURSDAY, JANUARY 29, 2015

KEEPING THE STORY ALIVE: The Tuskegee Airmen Story

Location: The ARCH Building, Room 108

Time: 4:00 pm – 5:30 pm

Topic: MLK Symposium on Social Justice

Click here for more information.

A Conversation with – Dr. Edna Foa
Professor of Clinical Psychology & Director

of the Center for the Treatment and Study of Anxiety

Dr. Edna Foa, a world-renown authority on the psychopathology and treatment of anxiety, will speak on trauma, symptoms, and treatment of mental disorders involving workplace stress, military service, and sexual trauma.

 

Date: Thursday, October 16, 2014
Time: 4:00 pm to 5:00 pm
Penn Bookstore, 2nd floor conference room

Click here for more information.

5th ANNUAL VETERANS DAY FLAG RAISING CEREMONY
TUESDAY, NOVEMBER 11 - 8:30 a.m. – 9:00 a.m.
COLLEGE GREEN – LOCUST WALK

Click here for more information.