POPL2001: Call for Papers

     *                 CALL FOR PAPERS                   *
     *                                                   *
     *  The 28th Annual ACM SIGPLAN-SIGACT Symposium on  *
     *        Principles of Programming Languages        *
     *            London, January 17-19, 2001            *
     *                                                   *


The 28th symposium on Principles of Programming Languages (POPL'01)
will address fundamental principles and important innovations in the
design, definition, analysis, and implementation of programming
languages, programming systems, and programming interfaces. Both
practical and theoretical papers are welcome.

Papers on a diversity of topics are encouraged, particularly ones
that point out new directions.  POPL'01 is not limited to topics
discussed in previous symposia. Authors concerned about the
appropriateness of a topic may communicate with the program chair
prior to submission.

Papers are to be submitted in the form of an extended abstract of
5000 words or less (excluding bibliography and figures). Submissions
will be judged on originality, significance, correctness, and clarity.
The summary should clearly express the contribution of the paper, both
in general and in technical terms. It is essential to identify what was
accomplished, describe its significance, and explain how the paper
compares with and advances previous work. Authors should make every
effort to make the technical content understandable to a broad audience.  

Authors should bear in mind that individual program-committee members
will be asked to referee approximately 40-50 extended abstracts. While
every effort will be made to assign submissions to an appropriate subset
of the program committee, very few papers are likely to be reviewed
solely by experts in a paper's topic area. A good rule of thumb is that
an informed colleague (with expertise in programming languages) should
be able to form an initial judgement of the technical content of a
submission in 40 minutes.  

Submitted papers must describe work unpublished in refereed venues
and not submitted for publication elsewhere (i.e., either a conference
or a journal). Papers that are too long or are submitted too late
(see below) will be rejected by the program chair.

    *  For electronic submissions, papers must be received by  *
    *        13:00 UTC (GMT), Monday, July 17, 2000            *

This is a hard deadline.  The submissions will be carried out
via the Web (a link to the web-page will be available in June 2000). 
Extended abstracts must be submitted as Postscript documents that are
interpretable by Ghostscript, or in PDF format, and they must be
printable on both A4 paper and US-letter; to facilitate this, extensive
use of special fonts and colours should be avoided. Authors who cannot
meet these requirements should contact the program chair. These are
firm constraints; submissions not meeting the criteria described above
will not be considered.

Receipt of the submissions will be acknowledged. Authors are responsible
for inquiring about the lack of a prompt acknowledgement. Submissions
lost or received late due to unusual circumstances might not be considered.

Notification of the acceptance or rejection of papers will be given by
Wednesday, September 27, 2000. Final versions of accepted papers must
be received by Monday, November 7, 2000. Authors of accepted papers
will be required to sign ACM copyright release forms.

Program chair:
Hanne Riis Nielson
Aarhus University and Saarland University
Email: popl01@cs.uni-sb.de

General chairs:
Chris Hankin                       Dave Schmidt
Imperial College, London           Kansas State University
Email: clh@doc.ic.ac.uk            Email: schmidt@cis.ksu.edu

Program committee:
Evelyn Duesterwald, Hewlett-Packard Labs 
Susan L. Graham, University of California, Berkeley
Robert Harper, Carnegie Mellon University 
Manuel Hermenegildo, Technical University of Madrid 
Simon Peyton Jones, Microsoft Research  
Paul Klint, CWI 
Greg Morrisett, Cornell University
Hanne Riis Nielson, University of Aarhus 
Bengt Nordstrom, Chalmers University 
Christian Queinnec, University of Paris 6 
Mooly Sagiv, Tel Aviv University 
Bernhard Steffen, University of Dortmund 
Jan Vitek, Purdue University 
Phillip Yelland, SUN Microsystems