[Prev][Next][Index][Thread]

TCS 2002 - Preliminary Call for Papers





       -----------------------------------------------------------------
                            PRELIMINARY CALL FOR PAPERS
        -----------------------------------------------------------------


                        2nd IFIP International Conference on

                          THEORETICAL COMPUTER SCIENCE

                                          (TCS 2002)

                           Montreal, August 25-30, 2002


                     co-sponsored by  EATCS and ACM Sigact





-----------------------------------------------------------------
Special Focus:

    Foundations of IT in the Era of Network and Mobile Computing
    -------------------------------------------------------

In recent years, IT application scenarios have evolved in very innovative
ways. Highly distributed networks have now become a common platform
for large-scale distributed programming, high bandwidth communications
are cheap and widespread, and most of our work tools are equipped with
processors enabling us to perform a multitude of tasks. In addition, mobile
computing (referring not only to wireless devices and dynamically
configured systems, but also and especially to mobile agents and robots)
has made it possible to exploit interaction in novel ways.

To harness the flexibility and power of these rapidly  evolving, interactive
systems, we need to come up with radically new foundational ideas and
principles. Now is the time to develop the theoretical foundations required
to design these systems.

Our computational goal is to discover techniques, models and algorithms
allowing us to construct systems that are flexible, dependable, secure,
robust and efficient. The prime focus is how to control and coordinate the
entities in the system. Cost and performance measures must account for
the integration of communication and computing, as well as the natural
interplay between structural information and complexity.

In terms of programming paradigms, mechanisms are required to support
mobility of code and computations, as well as effective infrastructures
to support coordination and control of dynamically loaded software modules.
Furthermore, a semantic and logic framework to formalize Internet
computations is clearly required as well. Crucial issues in the development
of Internet applications involve the control of component interactions,
since some components can be dynamically downloaded from the network.
Security architectures an monitor the execution of mobile code to protect
a host from external attacks on private information.

-------------------------------------------------------------------

Original and significant contributions on these issues, as well on foundational
questions are sought from all areas of theoretical computer science.

TCS 2002 will be composed of two interrelated tracks:

Track 1 -  Algorithms, Complexity and Models of Computation

Track 2  -  Logic, Semantics, Specification and Verification.


A submission should include the track name, the title of the paper, names and
affiliations of authors, an abstract up to 300 words, and the contact author's
name, address, phone number, fax number, and email address. The submission
must be in English, and it should provide a summary of the main results and
their details to allow the program committee to assess their merits and
significance, including references and comparisons. The result of the
paper must
be unpublished and not submitted for publication elsewhere, including
journals and the proceedings of other symposia or workshops. One author
of each accepted paper should be able to present it at the conference.
The Proceedings will be published by Kluwer, the official publisher of
IFIP.
More details on the submission procedure will appear in the forthcoming
First CFP and on the Confrence web site.


Important Dates:

December 3, 2001: Deadline for submission of papers
February 20, 2002: Notification of acceptance




-----------------------------------------------------------------


Conference Chair
----------------
    Nicola Santoro, Carleton University (santoro@scs.carleton.ca)


Conference Vice-Chairs
----------------------
Track (1)
    Ricardo Baeza-Yates, University of Chile (rbaeza@dcc.uchile.cl)
Track (2)
    Ugo Montanari, University of Pisa, Italy (ugo@di.unipi.it)


Program Committee
-----------------
Track (1)
      Eric Allender (allender@aramis.rutgers.edu)
      Jos╚ Balcazar (balqui@lsi.upc.es)
      Andrej Brodnik (Andrej.Brodnik@IMFM.Uni-Lj.SI)
      Volker Diekert  (diekert@informatik.uni-stuttgart.de)
      David Fernandez-Baca (fernande@cs.iastate.edu)
      Kazuo Iwama (iwama@i.kyoto-u.ac.jp)
      John D. Kececioglu  (kece@CS.Arizona.EDU)
      Jan van Leeuwen (jan@cs.uu.nl)
      Xuemin Lin (lxue@cse.unsw.EDU.AU)
      Alberto Marchetti Spaccamela  (alberto@dis.uniroma1.it)
      David Peleg (peleg@wisdom.weizmann.ac.il)
      Prabhakar Raghavan (pragh@verity.com)
      Venkatesh Raman (vraman@imsc.ernet.in)
      Siang Song (song@ime.usp.br)
      Paul Spirakis (spirakis@cti.gr)
      Luca Trevisan  (luca@eecs.berkeley.edu)
      Brigitte Vall╦e (Brigitte.Vallee@info.unicaen.fr)
      Alfredo Viola (viola@fing.edu.uy)
      Manfred Warmuth (manfred@cse.ucsc.edu)
      Sue Whitesides (sue@cs.mcgill.ca)
      Peter Widmayer  (widmayer@inf.ethz.ch)
      Jiri Wiederman  (wieder@uivt.cas.cz)

Track (2)
      Gabriel Baum (gbaum@info.unlp.edu.ar)
      Luca Cardelli (luca@microsoft.com)
      Frank DeBoer (frankb@cs.ruu.nl)
      Ursula Goltz (u.goltz@tu-bs.de)
      Roberto Gorrieri (gorrieri@cs.unibo.it)
      Jieh Hsiang  (hsiang@csie.ntu.edu.tw)
      Takayasu Ito (ito@ito.ecei.tohoku.ac.jp)
      Alexander Letichevsky (letichev@carrier.kiev.ua)
      Jean-Jacques Levy (Jean-Jacques.Levy@inria.fr)
      Huimin Lin (lhm@ox.ios.ac.cn)
      Kim Marriott (marriott@csse.monash.edu.au)
      Narciso Marti-Oliet (narciso@eucmos.sim.ucm.es)
      John Mitchell (mitchell@cs.stanford.edu)
      Luis Monteiro (lm@fct.unl.pt)
      Peter Mosses (pdmosses@daimi.aau.dk)
      Prakash Panangaden (prakash@cs.mcgill.ca)
      Benjamin Pierce (bcpierce@cis.upenn.edu)
      Amir Pnueli (amir@wisdom.weizmann.ac.il)
      Leila Ribeiro (leila@inf.ufrgs.br)
      Gheorghe Stefanescu (ghstef@funinf.math.unibuc.ro)
      Andrzej Tarlecki (tarlecki@mimuw.edu.pl)
      Thiagu Thiagarajan (pst@smi.ernet.in)


Organizing Committee
--------------------
      Amiya Nayak (nayak@nortelnetworks.com)
      Giuseppe Prencipe (prencipe@di.unipi.it)


Web Site
--------
      http://www.scs.carleton.ca/~santoro/TCS2002/indexTCS2002.html


Sponsors
--------

The IFIP TCS2002 conference is sponsored by

-- IFIP TC1 (Technical Committee on Foundations of Computer Science)

in cooperation with

-- EATCS (European Association for Theoretical Computer Science)
-- ACM SIGACT (Special Interest Group on Algorithm and Computation Theory)



IFIP TC1 Steering Committee
---------------------------
     Giorgio Ausiello (U. of Roma "La Sapienza", Italy) - CHAIR -
     Wilfried Brauer (TU Munchen, Germany)
     Takayasu Ito (Tohoku University, Japan)
     Michael O. Rabin (Harvard University, USA)
     Joseph Traub (Columbia University, USA)


The first IFIP TCS was held in Sendai, Japan, in 2000
(http://hagi.is.s.u-tokyo.ac.jp/tcs2000/).
TCS2002 will be held as part of the 17th IFIP World Computer Congress
(http://www.wcc2002.org/en/index.html).



List of Areas
--------------

Track (1): Algorithms, Complexity and Models of Computation

Analysis and design of algorithms
Automata and formal languages
Cellular automata and systems
Combinatorial, graph and optimization algorithms
Computational and mathematical finance
Computational learning theory
Continuous algorithms and complexity
Computational complexity
Computational geometry
Cryptography
Distributed computing
Descriptional complexity
Evolutionary and genetic computing
Experimental algorithms
Mobile computing
Molecular computing and algorithmic aspects of bioinformatics
Network computing
Neural computing
Parallel and distributed algorithms
Probabilistic and randomized algorithms
Quantum computing
Structural information and communication complexity


Track (2): Logic, Semantics, Specification and Verification

Bridging semantics and complexity
Concurrency theory
Constructive and non-standard logics in computer science
Foundations of global computing
Foundations of mobile computing
Foundations of security
Foundations of system specification
Foundations of wide area programming
Logic and semantics for programs and languages
Logic, specification and verification of hybrid and real-time systems
Proofs and specifications in computer science
Term rewriting systems
Theoretical aspects of software concepts
Theoretical aspects of specification, and verification of hardware and software
Theoretical foundations of databases
Theoretical foundations of open systems
Theory of Internet languages and systems
Theory of parallel and distributed systems
Type and category theory in computer science
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------