1st CFP: NWPT'02

First Announcement and Call for Abstracts:

       The 14th Nordic Workshop on Programming Theory, NWPT'02

                         Tallinn,  Estonia
                        20-22 November 2002


Organized by
      Inst. of Cybernetics, Tallinn (IoC)
      Dept. of Computer Science, Tallinn Techn. U.

Important Dates

      Submission of abstracts: 30 September 2002
      Notification of acceptance/rejection: 21 October 2002


The NWPT series of annual workshops is a forum bringing together
programming theorists from the Nordic and Baltic countries (but also
elsewhere). The previous workshops were held in Uppsala (1989 and
1999), Aalborg (1990), Göteborg (1991 and 1995), Bergen (1992 and
2000), Åbo (1993 and 1998), Aarhus (1994), Oslo (1996), Tallinn
(1997), Lyngby (2001). In 2002, the workshop will again be held in


Topics of the workshop include (but are not limited to)

      semantics of programming languages,
      programming language design and programming methodology,
      programming logics,
      formal specification of programs,
      program verification,
      program construction,
      program transformation and refinement,
      real-time and hybrid systems,
      models of concurrent, distributed and mobile computing,
      tools for program verification and construction.


Authors wishing to give a talk at the workshop are requested to submit
an abstract of 1-3 pages (LaTeX or plain text, or ps or pdf, printable
on A4 paper) to nwpt02@cc.ioc.ee by 30 September 2002. Submission of
work submitted for formal publication elsewhere and work in progress
is permitted.

The abstracts of the accepted contributions will be available at the
workshop. After the workshop, a few, selected papers will be published
in a special issue of an international journal (under negotiation).

Invited Speakers

      Roland Backhouse (U. of Nottingham, UK)
       - Applying Relation Algebra to Program Construction
      Yuri Gurevich (Microsoft Research, Redmond, WA, USA)
       - Executable Specifications at Microsoft
      Bengt Jonsson (Uppsala U., SE)
       - t.b.a.

Programme Committee

      Michael R. Hansen (Techn. U. of Denmark, DK)
      Magne Haveraaen (U. of Bergen, NO)
      Hannu-Matti Järvinen (Tampere U. of Techn., FI)
      Kim G. Larsen (Aalborg U., DK)
      Bengt Nordström (Chalmers U. of Techn., SE)
      Olaf Owe (U. of Oslo, NO)
      Kaisa Sere (Åbo Akademi, FI)
      Jüri Vain (Tallinn Techn. U., EE) - chair
      Wang Yi (Uppsala U., SE)

Organizing Committee

      Juhan Ernits (IoC, Tallinn, EE)
      Marko Kääramees (IoC, Tallinn, EE)
      Tarmo Uustalu (IoC, Tallinn, EE)
      Jüri Vain (Tallinn Techn. U., EE) - chair

Further Information

Further information may be requested by e-mail to nwpt02@cc.ioc.ee,
ordinary mail to the contact address NWPT'02, Jüri Vain, Inst. of
Cybernetics (IoC), Akadeemia tee 21, EE-12618 Tallinn, Estonia, or
obtained directly from the workshop webpage