[CSL03] Call For Papers: Computer Science Logic 2003

[ We apologize for the inevitable multiple copies of this announcement.
  Please see the note on mailing lists at the end.                      ]

[ There is a PostScript copy of this Call at
  for display on notice boards.                                         ]

                        First Call for Papers

            Annual Conference of the European Association for
                        Computer Science Logic
                    8th Kurt Goedel Colloquium

                           CSL'03 & KGC

         25 August afternoon - 30 August 2003, Vienna, Austria

Computer Science Logic (CSL)  is  the annual conference  of  the European
Association  for  Computer  Science  Logic  (EACSL).    The  Kurt  Goedel
Colloquium  (KGC)   is   the  biennial  conference  of  the  Kurt  Goedel
Society (KGS).   The joint conference is intended for computer scientists
whose  research  activities  involve  logic,  as  well  as  for logicians
working on issues significant for computer science.   Suggested topics of
interest include:   automated deduction  and interactive theorem proving;
constructive mathematics  and  type theory;   equational logic  and  term
rewriting;  fuzzy logic;  modal and temporal logics;  computational proof
theory;  linear logic;  finite model theory;  bounded arithmetic; logical
aspects  of  computational  complexity;    higher  order  logic;    logic
programming  and constraints;   lambda and combinatory calculi;   logical
foundations  of  programming paradigms;   model checking;  specification,
extraction  and  transformation  of  programs;   categorical  logic   and
topological semantics; game semantics; domain theory; database theory.

A lecture,  jointly invited by  CSL'03 & KGC  and ESSLLI (European Summer
School in Logic Language and Information) will be given by
  Sergei Artemov (CUNY, USA)

Additional invited lectures will be given by (tentative):
  Bruno Buchberger (Johannes Kepler University, Austria)
  Dov Gabbay (King's College London, England)
  Helmut Veith (Vienna University of Technology, Austria)
  Nikolai Vorobjov (University of Bath, England)
  Andrei Voronkov (University of Manchester, England)

The following tutorials are planned:
  Verification of infinite state systems
    (Ahmed Bouajjani, University of Paris 7, France)
  Computational epsilon calculus
    (Georg Moser, University of Muenster, Germany, and 
     Richard Zach, University of Calgary, Canada)
  Quantifier elimination (Nikolai Vorobjov, University of Bath, England)
  Winning strategies and controller synthesis
    (Igor Walukiewicz, University of Bordeaux, France)

The  proceedings  of  the  conference  will be published  in the Springer
Lecture Notes in Computer Science series.

Submitted  papers  must  describe  work  not previously published.   They
must  not be  submitted concurrently  to another conference with refereed
proceedings.   Research  that  is  already  submitted to a journal may be
submitted to CSL, provided that 
(a) the PC chair is notified in advance that this is the case, and 
(b) it is not scheduled for journal publication before the conference.

Submissions authored or coauthored  by members of the Programme Committee
are not allowed. 

Papers should preferably be submitted either in LNCS format or in 12pt A4
format.   Papers should not exceed 14 pages;  full proofs may appear in a
technical appendix which will be read at the reviewers' discretion.   The
title  page  must  contain:   title  and  authors;   physical  and e-mail
addresses;   identification  of  corresponding  author,  if not the first
author; an abstract of no more than 200 words; a list of keywords.

The key dates for the conference are:

   Submission: The submission process is in two stages,  both with strict
                   31 March 2003 for the title and abstract, and
                    7 April 2003 for the full text.

   Notification:    2 June  2003

   Final copy due: 18 June  2003

Prospective  authors  should  check  the  conference  Web  page  for  any
subsequent changes to these dates.

Further information on all aspects of the conference will be found on the
conference Web page:


Programme Committee:
  Matthias Baaz (chair) 
  Arnold Beckmann
  Lev Beklemishev
  Maarten de Rijke
  Chris Fermueller
  Didier Galmiche 
  Harald Ganzinger
  Erich Graedel
  Petr Hajek
  Martin Hyland
  Reinhard Kahle
  Helene Kirchner
  Daniel Leivant
  Johann Makowsky (co-chair) 
  Jerzy Marcinkowski
  Franco Montagna 
  Robert Nieuwenhuis
  Michel Parigot
  Jeff Paris
  Helmut Schwichtenberg 
  Jerzy Tiuryn

[ Note  on  mailing  lists.   The To: header in each copy of this message
  contains the entry in our mailing list to which it was sent.
  If you wish the entry to be removed from our list,  or have any problem
  with the mail, please contact csl03+calls@logic.at .