EMSOFT 2003 Call For Papers

Call For Papers

3rd International Conference on Embedded Software

Philadelphia, USA
October 13 -- 15, 2003

Aims and Scope:

The purpose of the conference is to bring together researchers and
developers from academia, industry, and government to advance the
science, engineering, and technology in embedded software development.
EMSOFT was started two years ago with focus on principles of embedded
software development and aims at covering all aspects of embedded
software. The first meeting was held as a conference with only invited
speakers, and was sponsored by DARPA and NSF at Lake Tahoe in October
2001. The second meeting held in October 2002 in Grenoble, France, had
a mix of invited and contributed papers with over 150 participants
spanning different areas.

Submissions are invited in all areas of embedded software, including

- System design and integration methodologies
- Programming languages and software engineering
- Operating systems and middleware
- Architectures and compilers
- Models of computation and formal methods
- Scheduling and execution time analysis
- Communication protocols and fault tolerance
- Hardware/software codesign and systems-on-chip
- Applications, such as embedded control, smart sensors, and multimedia

The proceedings of the conference will be published in the Springer
Lecture Notes in Computer Science Series (see volumes 2211 and 2491
for past proceedings).  Selected papers will be invited after the
meeting to submit an extended version to a special issue of ACM
Transactions on Embedded Computer Systems.

Instructions for Submission:

Submitted papers must present original research which is unpublished
and not submitted elsewhere.  Papers should be prepared using
Springer's LNCS style (see http://www.springer.de/comp/lncs/authors.html),
and must be at most 16 pages (including abstract, figures, appendices,
and bibliography).  Instructions for submitting the papers
electronically will be available on the conference webpage in March.

Important Dates:

April 18, 2003: Deadline for Submission
June 16, 2003: Acceptance Notification
July 15, 2003: Final version of accepted papers

Invited Speakers:

Alan Burns (University of York, UK)
Alain Deutsch (Polyspace Technologies, France)
Kim Larsen (Aalborg University, Denmark)
Joseph Loyall (BBN Technologies, USA)
Keith Moore (Hewlett-Packard, USA)
Jan Rabaey (University of California at Berkeley, USA)
Greg Spirakis (Intel, USA)

Conference Organization:

PC Chairs: Rajeev Alur and Insup Lee (University of Pennsylvania, USA)
Local Organization: Oleg Sokolsky (University of Pennsylvania, USA)
Publicity: Stephen Edwards (Columbia University, USA)

Program Committee:

Rajeev Alur, Co-Chair (University of Pennsylvania, USA)
Albert Benveniste (IRISA/INRIA, France)
Giorgio Buttazo (University of Pavia, Italy)
Rolf Ernst (Technical Univ of Braunschweig, Germany)
Hans Hansson (Malardalen University, Sweden)
Kane Kim (University of California at Irvine, USA)
Hermann Kopetz (Technical University of Vienna, Austria)
Luciano Lavagno (Politecnico di Torino, Italy)
Edward Lee (University of California at Berkeley, USA)
Insup Lee, Co-Chair (University of Pennsylvania, USA)
Sharad Malik (Princeton University, USA)
Jens Palsberg (Purdue University, USA)
Martin Rinard (MIT, USA)
Heonshik Shin (Seoul National University, Korea)
Kang Shin (University of Michigan, USA)
John  Stankovic (University of Virginia, USA)
Janos Sztipanovits (Vanderbilt University, USA)
Wayne Wolf (Princeton University, USA)
Sergio Yovine (Verimag, France)

Steering Committee:

Gerard Berry (Esterel Technologies, France)
Tom Henzinger (University of California at Berkeley, USA)
Hermann Kopetz (Technical University of Vienna, Austria)
Edward Lee (University of California at Berkeley, USA)
Ragunathan Rajkumar (Carnegie Mellon University, USA)
Alberto Sangiovanni-Vincentelli (University of California at Berkeley, USA)
Douglas Schmidt (DARPA, USA)
Joseph Sifakis (Verimag, France)
John Stankovic (University of Virginia, USA)
Reinhard Wilhelm (Universitat des Saarlandes, Germany)
Wayne Wolf (Princeton University, USA)