Skip to main content

Course Textbook: We will provide lecture notes, which can be found consolidated here.

Supplemental Textbook: CLRS - Introduction to Algorithms, 3rd edition by Cormen, Leiserson, Rivest, and Stein. You can obtain a free copy via the Penn Libraries

Note: The lecture schedule is tentative and subject to change as the term progresses.

Date Topic Required Readings
Thu, Jan 16, 2020 Welcome to CIS 121 & Stable Matching
Tue, Jan 21, 2020 Greatest Common Divisor, Insertion Sort
Thu, Jan 23, 2020 Running Time and Growth Functions
Tue, Jan 28, 2020 Divide and Conquer
Thu, Jan 30, 2020 Mergesort, Analyzing Runtime of Code Snippets
Tue, Feb 4, 2020 Simplified Master Theorem, Deterministic Quick Sort, Counting Inversions, Closest Pair
Thu, Feb 6, 2020 Closest Pair, Deterministic Selection, Randomized Quicksort
Tue, Feb 11, 2020 Randomized Quicksort, Stacks and Queues
Thu, Feb 13, 2020 Heaps
Tue, Feb 18, 2020 Huffman Coding
Thu, Feb 20, 2020 Huffman Coding, Breadth-First Search
Mon, Feb 24, 2020 Last day to drop a course
  • We know the midterm is after the drop deadline
  • Talk to Prof. Gandhi if you are concerned about your performance.
Tue, Feb 25, 2020 Midterm 1 (in-class)
  • Check out the exams tab for locations and practice material
Thu, Feb 27, 2020 Bipartiteness, Depth First Search
Tue, Mar 3, 2020 DFS Properties, Topological Sort
Thu, Mar 5, 2020 Strongly Connected Components
Tue, Mar 10, 2020 No Lecture - Spring Break
Thu, Mar 12, 2020 No Lecture - Spring Break
Tue, Mar 17, 2020 No Lecture - Extended Spring Break
Thu, Mar 19, 2020 No Lecture - Extended Spring Break
Tue, Mar 24, 2020 Shortest Paths, Minimum Spanning Trees
Thu, Mar 26, 2020 MSTs, Union Find
Tue, Mar 31, 2020 Union Find, Shortest Path in DAGs
Thu, Apr 2, 2020 Hashing
Tue, Apr 7, 2020 Midterm 2
Thu, Apr 9, 2020 Hashing (cont.)
Mon, Apr 13, 2020 Last day to change grade type (deadline extended)
Mon, Apr 13, 2020 Last day to withdraw from a course (deadline extended)
Tue, Apr 14, 2020 Tries
Thu, Apr 16, 2020 Binary Search Trees, AVL Trees
Tue, Apr 21, 2020 Skip Lists
Thu, Apr 23, 2020 Skip Lists, Bloom Filters
Tue, Apr 28, 2020 Special Topics - TBD
Mon, May 4, 2020 Cumulative Final Exam (TBD)