Skip to main content

Course Textbook: We will provide lecture notes, which can be found consolidated here.

Supplemental Textbook: CLRS - Introduction to Algorithms, 3rd edition by Cormen, Leiserson, Rivest, and Stein. You can obtain a free copy via the Penn Libraries

Note: The lecture schedule is tentative and subject to change as the term progresses.

Date Topic Required Readings
Thu, Jan 16, 2020 Welcome to CIS 121 & Stable Matching
Tue, Jan 21, 2020 Greatest Common Divisor, Insertion Sort
Thu, Jan 23, 2020 Running Time and Growth Functions
Tue, Jan 28, 2020 Analyzing Runtime of Code Snippets
Thu, Jan 30, 2020 Divide and Conquer
Tue, Feb 4, 2020 Quick Sort, Counting Inversions, Deterministic Selection
Thu, Feb 6, 2020 Deterministic Selection, Closest Pair
Tue, Feb 11, 2020 Simplified Master Theorem, Randomized Quicksort, Stacks and Queues
Thu, Feb 13, 2020 Heaps
Tue, Feb 18, 2020 Huffman Coding
Thu, Feb 20, 2020 Breadth-First Search / Depth-First Search
Mon, Feb 24, 2020 Last day to drop a course
  • We know the midterm is after the drop deadline
  • Talk to Prof. Gandhi if you are concerned about your performance.
Tue, Feb 25, 2020 Midterm 1 (in-class) TENTATIVE
  • Check out the exams tab for locations and practice material
Thu, Feb 27, 2020 Bipartiteness, Topological Sort
Tue, Mar 3, 2020 Topological Sort, Shortest Paths
Thu, Mar 5, 2020 Shortest Paths, SCC
Tue, Mar 10, 2020 No Lecture - Spring Break
Thu, Mar 12, 2020 No Lecture - Spring Break
Tue, Mar 17, 2020 Minimum Spanning Trees
Thu, Mar 19, 2020 MSTs, Shortest Paths in DAGs
Fri, Mar 20, 2020 Last day to change grade type
Tue, Mar 24, 2020 Union Find
Thu, Mar 26, 2020 Tries
Mon, Mar 30, 2020 Last day to withdraw from a course
Tue, Mar 31, 2020 Tries, Hashing
Thu, Apr 2, 2020 Hashing (cont.)
Tue, Apr 7, 2020 Midterm 2 (in-class) TENTATIVE
  • Check out the exams tab for locations and practice material
Thu, Apr 9, 2020 Hashing (cont.)
Tue, Apr 14, 2020 Binary Search Trees, AVL Trees
Thu, Apr 16, 2020 Skip Lists
Tue, Apr 21, 2020 Skip Lists, Bloom Filters
Thu, Apr 23, 2020 Special Topics - TBD
Tue, Apr 28, 2020 Special Topics - TBD
Mon, May 4, 2020 Cumulative Final Exam (6-8pm)