Skip to main content

The lecture schedule is tentative and subject to change as the term progresses.

Date Topic Required Readings
Thu, Jan 17, 2019 Review of CIS 160 and Stable Matching
  • Stable matching
Tue, Jan 22, 2019 Greatest Common Divisor, Insertion Sort
  • GCD
  • Insertion sort
  • Insertion Sort - CLRS 2.1, 2.2
Thu, Jan 24, 2019 Running Time and Growth Functions
  • Running time
  • Order of growth
  • CLRS Chapter 3
Tue, Jan 29, 2019 Analyzing Runtime of Code Snippets
  • Analyzing code snippets
Thu, Jan 31, 2019 Divide and Conquer
  • Analyzing recursive functions
  • Recurrence relations
  • Mergesort analysis
Tue, Feb 5, 2019 Quicksort, Counting Inversions, Deterministic Selection
  • Quicksort
  • Counting inversions
  • Selection problem
Thu, Feb 7, 2019 Deterministic Selection, Closest Pair
  • Selection problem
  • Closest pair divide and conquer algorithm
  • Selection - CLRS 9.3
Tue, Feb 12, 2019 Simplified Master Theorem, Randomized Quicksort, Stacks and Queues
  • Simplified master theorem
  • Randomized quicksort
  • Stacks and queues
  • Amortized analysis
Thu, Feb 14, 2019 Heaps
  • Heaps
  • Heaps - CLRS Chapter 6
Tue, Feb 19, 2019 Huffman Coding
  • Huffman coding
Thu, Feb 21, 2019 Midterm 1 (in-class)
  • Check out the exams tab for locations/practice material
Fri, Feb 22, 2019 Drop Period Ends
Tue, Feb 26, 2019 Breadth-First-Search / Depth-First Search
  • Graph representations
  • Graph traversals
Thu, Feb 28, 2019 Bipartiteness, Topological Sort
  • White path theorem
  • Testing bipartiteness
  • Topological sort (Kahn’s Algorithm)
Tue, Mar 5, 2019 Spring Break
Thu, Mar 7, 2019 Spring Break
Tue, Mar 12, 2019 Topological Sort, Shortest Paths
  • Topological sort (Tarjan's Algorithm)
  • Shortest Paths - Dijkstra's Algorithm
Thu, Mar 14, 2019 Shortest Paths, Strongly Connected Components
Tue, Mar 19, 2019 Minimum Spanning Trees
  • MSTs
Thu, Mar 21, 2019 Minimum Spanning Trees, Shortest Paths in DAGs
  • More MST algorithms and properties
  • Linear time shortest path in DAGs algorithm
  • MST notes (will be posted Friday)
  • Shortest Path in DAGs - CLRS 24.2
Tue, Mar 26, 2019 Union Find
Wed, Mar 27, 2019 Problem Solving / How to Approach Algorithm Questions
  • JMHH F60 from 7-8:30pm, led by TAs Steven and Caroline
Thu, Mar 28, 2019 Tries
Tue, Apr 2, 2019 Hashing
Thu, Apr 4, 2019 Midterm 2 (in-class)
  • Check out the exams tab for locations/practice material
Fri, Apr 5, 2019 Last day to withdraw from a course
Tue, Apr 9, 2019 Hashing
Thu, Apr 11, 2019 Binary Search Trees & AVL Trees
Tue, Apr 16, 2019 Skip Lists
Thu, Apr 18, 2019 Skip Lists
Tue, Apr 23, 2019 Advanced Topics: TBD
Thu, Apr 25, 2019 Advanced Topics: TBD
Tue, Apr 30, 2019 Advanced Topics: TBD
Wed, May 8, 2019 Final Exam (6-8pm)
  • Tentative until confirmed by registrar