Skip to main content

Course Textbook: We will provide lecture notes, which can be found consolidated here.

Supplemental Textbook: CLRS - Introduction to Algorithms, 3rd edition by Cormen, Leiserson, Rivest, and Stein. You can obtain a free copy via the Penn Libraries

Note: The lecture schedule is tentative and subject to change as the term progresses.

Date Topic Required Readings
Tue, Sep 1, 2020 Welcome to CIS 121 & Greatest Common Divisor
Thu, Sep 3, 2020 Introduction to Big Oh
Tue, Sep 8, 2020 Big Omega & Theta
Thu, Sep 10, 2020 Analyzing Runtime of Code Snippets
Tue, Sep 15, 2020 Divide and Conquer + Intro to Recurrence Relations
Thu, Sep 17, 2020 Merge Sort + Closest Pair
Tue, Sep 22, 2020 Randomized Quicksort
Thu, Sep 24, 2020 Stacks and Queues, Deterministic Quicksort
Tue, Sep 29, 2020 Heaps
Thu, Oct 1, 2020 Heaps continued, Huffman Coding
Tue, Oct 6, 2020 Huffman Continued
Thu, Oct 8, 2020 Breadth First Search, Depth First Search
Mon, Oct 12, 2020 Last day to drop a course
  • Talk to Prof. Kostas if you are concerned about your performance.
Tue, Oct 13, 2020 DFS continued, Topological Sort
Thu, Oct 15, 2020 CLASS CANCELLED
Tue, Oct 20, 2020 Midterm 1 (in-class)
  • For exam logistics, please check Piazza
  • Practice material available on Canvas and Gradescope
Thu, Oct 22, 2020 Strongly Connected Components
Tue, Oct 27, 2020 CLASS CANCELLED
Thu, Oct 29, 2020 Shortest Paths
Fri, Oct 30, 2020 Last day to change grade type