Symposium on Complex Fluid Flows

In Honor of Professor Dan Joseph on the Occasion of his 80th Birthday


May 2-3, 2009 , University of Minnesota,  Minneapolis






Daniel D. Joseph is a Professor of Aerospace Engineering and Mechanics at the University of Minnesota since 1963, where he has served as the Russel J. Penrose Professor and RegentÕs Professor. He is presently a Distinguished Adjunct Professor of Aerospace and Mechanical Engineering at the University of California, Irvine, and an Honorary Professor at XiÕan Jiaotong University in China. He has authored 10 patents, 400 journal articles, and six books. He is a Guggenheim Fellow; a member of the National Academy of Engineering, the National Academy of Sciences, and the American Academy of Arts and Sciences; G.I. Taylor Medalist, Society of Engineering Science; a Fellow of the APS; and winner of the Timoshenko Medal of the ASME, the Schlumberger Foundation Award, the Bingham Medal of the Society of Rheology, Fluid Dynamics Prize of the APS, Professional Achievement Awards from Illinois Institute of Technology and University of Chicago, and the Distinguished Service Award from the U.S. Army. He is listed in Thompson Scientific-ISI Highly Cited Researchers.





Invited Speakers:

D.D. Joseph, University of Minnesota

M. Renardy, Virginia Tech

N. Aubry, Carnegie Mellon University

Y. Renardy, Virginia Tech

G.I. Barenblatt, University of California, Berkeley

P. Singh, New Jersey Institute of Technology

J. Feng, University of British Columbia, Canada

C. Verdier, CNRS and Universit«e Grenoble I

A. Narain, Michigan Technological University

J. Wang, University of Minnesota

N. Patankar, Northwestern University

J. Yoo, Seoul National University, Korea


Symposium Program  ddj-2009/Program.pdf

Participants List  ddj-2009/Participants-List.pdf

Symposium Picture Gallery


Howard H. Hu (University of Pennsylvania, 215-898-8504,

Gary Balas (University of Minnesota,


Sponsored by the National Science Foundation, and Department of Aerospace Engineering and Mechanics, the University of Minnesota.