Skip directly to: content | search

Penn Discourse Treebank Workshop 2012

Workshop Schedule


Institute for Research in Cognitive Science
3401 Walnut Street, Suite 400A, Philadelphia, PA   19104
(215) 898-0357

 

April 30 / Day 1: 20 minute talks by presenters in Groups 1 & 2

8:00 - 9:00          BREAKFAST & COFFEE, Morning Presenters Provide Slides
9:00 - 9:15          Participants introduce themselves (names & affiliations)
9:15 - 9:45          Introduction to the workshop and its purpose of acquiring "community feedback" on                           the PDTB: Aravind Joshi
9:45 - 10:30        Overview of the PDTB: Rashmi Prasad
10:30 - 10:45      BREAK
10:45 - 11:15      Overview of the workshop participants and their PDTB/discourse-related research:                          Bonnie Webber
11:15 - 12:30      Group 1 presentations (Three 20-minute talks, plus questions) addressing the                          presenter's work with the PDTB, the main contribution(s) of that work, and any                          additional interesting features of the work

                         •              Jason Baldridge, University of Texas, Austin jbaldrid@mail.utexas.edu
                         •              Min-Yen Kan, NUS, Singapore kanmy@comp.nus.edu.sg
                                        Hwee Tou Ng, NUS, Singapore  nght@comp.nus.edu.sg
                         •              Ani Nenkova, University of Pennsylvania nenkova@seas.upenn.edu
                                        Annie Louis, University of Pennsylvania lannie@seas.upenn.edu
                                        Emily Pitler, University of Pennsylvania epitler@cis.upenn.edu

12:30 - 1:30       LUNCH (1 hour), Afternoon Presenters Provide Slides
1:30 - 2:45         Group 1 presentations (Three 20-minute talks, plus questions)

                         •              Silvia Pareti, University of Edinburgh, UK  silvia_prt@yahoo.com
                         •              Chris Potts, Stanford University, CA cgpotts@stanford.edu
                         •              Yannick Versley, University of Tuebingen, Germany
                                        versley@sfs.uni-tuebingen.de

2:45 - 3:00          BREAK
3:00 - 4:15          Group 2 presentations (Three 20-minute talks, plus questions)

                         •              Cem Bozsahin, METU, Ankara, TK  cem.bozsahin@gmail.com
                                        Deniz Zeyrek, METU, Ankara, TK dezeyrek@metu.edu.tr
                         •              Eva Hajicova, Charles University, Prague, CZ                                         hajicova@ufal.ms.mff.cuni.cz
                                        Lucie Mladlova, Charles University, Prague, CZ                                         mladova@ufal.mff.cuni.cz
                         •              Dipti Misra Sharma, IIIT, Hyderabad, India dipti@iiit.ac.in
                                        Sudheer Kolachina, IIIT, Hyderabad, India                                         sudheer.kpg08@research.iiit.ac.in

4:15 - 4:30          BREAK
4:30 – 5:15         Group 2 presentations (Two 20-minute talks, plus questions)

                         •              Sara Tonelli, University of Trento, Italy satonelli@fbk.eu
                                        Giuseppe Riccardi, University of Trento, Italy riccardi@disi.unitn.it
                         •              Nianwen Xue, Brandeis University, Waltham MA mxuen@brandeis.edu
                                        Yuping Zhou, Brandeis University, Waltham MA  yzhou@brandeis.edu

6:00                  Shuttle FROM SHERATON HOTEL to dinner (Philadelphia Trolleyworks,
6:30                  Dinner at Vietnam Café (814 South 47th Street, (215) 729-0260)

 

May 1 / Day 2:

8:00 - 9:00         BREAKFAST & COFFEE
9:00 – 10:00      Overview of proposed extensions to the PDTB: what and why
10:00 - 10:15     BREAK
10:15 - 12:00     Comments from participants on ways in which (or additional ways in which) the                         PDTB and its possible extensions could play a role in their own area, along with                         any reactions and/or questions raised by the earlier presentations
12:00 - 1:00       LUNCH
1:00 – 2:45        More comments from participants on how the PDTB could play a role in their area
2:45 - 3:00         BREAK
3:00 – 5:00        Reiteration of workshop purpose, meeting of Group 3 members, and planning the                         report of community feedback

                         •              Nicoleta Calzolari, ILC, Italy nicoletta.calzolari@ilc.cnr.it
                         •              Barbara Di Eugenio, UIC, Chicago IL bdieugen@cs.uic.edu
                         •              Nancy Ide, Vassar College, Poughkeepsie NY ide@cs.vassar.edu
                         •              Andy Kehler, UCSD, San Diego CA kehler@ling.ucsd.edu
                         •              Kathy McKeown, Columbia Univ, NYC kathy@cs.columbia.edu
                         •              James Pustejovsky, Brandeis Univ, Waltham MA                                          jamesp@cs.brandeis.edu
                         •              Hannah Rohde, Univ of Edinburgh, Edinburgh UK                                         hannah.rohde@ed.ac.uk
                         •              Dan Roth, UIUC, Champaign IL danr@uiuc.edu
                         •              Marilyn Walker, UCSC, Santa Cruz CA maw@soe.ucsc.edu
                         •              Michael White, OSU, Columbus OH mwhite@ling.osu.edu
                         •              Giuseppe Riccardi, University of Trento, Italy riccardi@disi.unitn.it

                                      
May 2 / Day 3 (half day):

8:00 - 9:00         BREAKFAST & COFFEE
9:00 - 11:00       Meeting of participants involved in preparation of community feedback draft report
11:00 - 12:15      Presentation of draft report on community feedback to group as a whole,                          comments and suggestions from the rest of the group, possibly used to make final                          changes to the report
12:15                 WORKSHOP ENDS