VMCAI '03 - Call for Papers


                        CALL FOR PAPERS

               Fourth International Conference on
                  NYU, January 9--11, 2003
               URL:  http://www.cis.upenn.edu/vmcai/

The purpose of VMCAI is to provide a forum for researchers from the three
communities (Verification, Model Checking, and Abstract Interpretation)
that will facilitate interaction, cross-fertilization, and the advance of
hybrid methods that combine the three.  With the growing need for formal
tools to reason about complex, infinite-state, and embedded systems,
such hybrid methods are bound to be of great importance.

Papers (up to 11 pages excluding bibliography) are solicited of two
categories: (1) reporting new results as well as experimental
evaluation and comparisons of existing techniques, and (2) survey
papers that shed light on the existing methods, their role in
verificaiton, and the relations among them.

Topics include but are not limited to:

    * program verification
    * static analysis techniques
    * model checking
    * program certification
    * type systems
    * abstract domains
    * debugging techniques
    * compiler optimization.
    * embedded systems
    * formal analysis of security protocols

The proceedings of the conference will be published in the Springer-Verlag
Lecture Notes in Computer Science series.

Some funds to support students to attend the conference are available.

Important Dates
Papers Submission Deadline: September 10, 2002
Notification of acceptance: October 20, 2002
Camera ready version due: November 10, 2002
Conference : January 9-11, 2003, New York University, New York

Amir Pnueli New York University (USA) and Weizmann Institute (IL)
Andreas Podelski Max Planck Institute (D)

Rajeev Alur             (UPenn)
Paul C. Attie           (Northeastern)
Annalisa Bossi          (U. Ca' Foscari)
Agostino Cortesi        (U. Ca' Foscari)
Radhia Cousot           (Ecole Polytechnique)
Javier Esparza          (Edinburgh)
Andrew D. Gordon        (Microsoft Research)
Joshua Guttman          (Mitre)
Barbara König           (TU München)
Salvatore La Torre      (UPenn)
Giorgio Levi            (Pisa)
Michael Lowry           (Nasa Ames)
Supratik Mukhopadhyay   (UPenn, co-chair)
Doron A. Peled          (UT Austin)
Colin P. Stirling       (Edinburgh)
Lenore D. Zuck          (NYU, co-chair)

Steering Committee
Agostino Cortesi  (Ca' Foscari)
E. Allen Emerson  (UT Austin)
Giorgio Levi      (Pisa)
Andreas Podelski  (MPI)
Thomas W. Reps    (U of Wisc.)
David A. Schmidt  (Kansas State U.)