CFP FOOL 11, January 2004, Venice Italy

			 Call for Papers

                The Eleventh International Workshop on
              Foundations of Object-Oriented Languages

                              FOOL 11

                     Sponsored by ACM SIGPLAN

                         January 17, 2003
                            Venice, italy
                        Following POPL '04



                Submissions: September 29, 2003                
		Notifications: November 17, 2003 
		Final versions: December  14, 2003

The search for sound principles for object-oriented languages has
given rise to much work on the theory of programming languages during
the past 15 years, leading to a better understanding of the key
concepts of object-oriented languages and to important developments in
type theory, semantics, and program verification. The FOOL workshops
bring together researchers to share new ideas and results in these
areas. The next workshop, FOOL 11, will be held in Venice, Italy, on 
Saturday January 17, 2004, the day after POPL '04. 

Submissions for this event are invited in the general area of 
foundations of object-oriented languages; topics of interest include 
language semantics, type systems, program analysis and verification, 
programming calculi, concurrent and distributed languages, and database 
languages. The main focus in selecting workshop contributions will be 
the intrinsic interest and timeliness of the work, so authors are 
encouraged to submit polished descriptions of work in progress as well 
as papers describing completed projects.

A world-wide web page will be created and made available as an informal 
electronic conference proceedings.

We solicit submissions on original research not previously published or 
currently submitted for publication elsewhere, in the form of extended 
abstracts. These extended abstracts should not exceed 5000 words 
(approximately 10 pages), plus as many optional appendices as you want. 
Submissions should be e-mailed to fool11@doc.ic.ac.uk.

Steering Committee

Martin Abadi, UC Santa Cruz
Luca Cardelli, Microsoft research
Katheen Fisher, AT&T Labs
Martin Odersky, Ecole Polytechnique de Lausanne
Benjamin Pierce, University of Pennsylvania (Chair)

Program Committee

Gilad Bracha, Sun Microsystems
Kim Bruce, Williams College
David Clarke, Utrecht University
Sophia Drossopoulou, Imperial College London (Chair)
Atsushi Igarashi, Kyoto University
Philip Wadler, Avaya Labs
Elena Zucca, University of Genova