Nader Engheta Receives 2013 Benjamin Franklin Key Award

Nader Engheta, H. Nedwill Ramsey Professor of Electrical and Systems Engineering, is the recipient of the 2013 Benjamin Franklin Key Award from the IEEE Philadelphia for "outstanding electrical engineering design, innovation and problem solving."

The Key Award  is given annually to an engineer in the Philadelphia section of IEEE for outstanding technical innovation and technological contributions that have significant practical application. The award emphasizes technical innovation, a significant improvement to the design or application of a system, or patents of clear practical values. Emphasis is placed on tangible technical and technological achievements that demonstrate intellectual, industrial, economical or human benefits.

Engheta's research activities span a broad range of areas involving the physics of fields and waves. He is a leading figure in the field of metamaterials, which combines physics, engineering and nanotechnology to bend and manipulate waves in ways that natural materials cannot. He has also published numerous journal papers, book chapters, conference articles, and is a Guggenheim Fellow, an IEEE Third Millennium Medallist, a Fellow of American Physical Society, a Fellow of IEEE, a Fellow of American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS), and a Fellow of the Optical Society of America, and has received numerous other awards and distinctions for his scholarly research contributions and teaching activities.

IEEE, the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers, is the world’s largest professional association dedicated to advancing technological innovation and excellence.

To read more about Engheta and his research, please visit