Professor Portonovo S. Ayyaswamy Awarded 2007 Worcester Reed Warner Medal


Portonovo S. Ayyaswamy, professor of mechanical engineering and applied mechanics, has been named the recipient of the 2007 Worcester Reed Warner Medal by American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME) for "seminal, cross-disciplinary and ground breaking publications on phase-change heat/mass transfer with droplets and bubbles, multi-phase flows, buoyancy-driven transport and ionized arc-plasma transport, with long-lasting and significant applications in condensation, combustion, micro-electronic packaging, and micro-/macro-biological system." The Worcester Reed Warner Medal was established in 1930 and honors outstanding contributions to the permanent literature of engineering.