Jan Van der Spiegel

University of Pennsylvania
Moore School of Electrical Engineering
School of Engineering and Applied Science

Department of Electrical and Systems Engineering

Google Scholar website







Short CV Projects Publications Teaching


Dr. Jan Van der Spiegel is a Professor of Electrical and Systems Engineering at the University of Pennsylvania. He is former Department Chair of Electrical Engineering, and Associate Dean of Education and Professional Programs of the School of Engineering. He was a Senior Visiting Professor at the Institute of Microelectronics and atthe Department of Electronics Engineering at Tsinghua University (Sept. 2017 till Feb.2018).

Dr. Van der Spiegel received his Master's degree in Electro-Mechanical Engineering and his Ph.D. degree in Electrical Engineering from the University of Leuven, Belgium. His primary research interests are in mixed-mode VLSI design, CMOS vision sensors for polarization imaging, bio-inspired image sensors and brain-machine interfaces. He is the author of over 250 journal and conference papers and holds 8 patents.

He is a Life Fellow of the IEEE, a Distinguished Lecturer of the Solid-State Circuit Society, and is the recipient of the IEEE Major Educational Innovation Award, the IEEE Third Millennium Medal, the UPS Foundation Distinguished Education Chair and the Bicentennial Class of 1940 Term Chair. He received the IBM Young Faculty Development Award and the Presidential Young Investigator Award.  He has served on several IEEE program committees (IEDM, ICCD, ISCAS, and ISSCC) and was the technical program chair of the 2007 International Solid-State Circuit Conference (IEEE ISSCC). He is an Associate Editor of the IEEETransaction of BioCAS, a member of the Editorial Board of the IEEE Proceedings and Section Editor of the Journal of Engineering of Institute of Engineering and Technology (IET). He was the president of the IEEE Solid-State-Circuits Society (2016-2017). He is currently the Conference Chair of the IEEE International Solid-State Circuits Conference (ISSCC).

He is a member of the IEEE Solid-State Circuits Society (SSCS) where he served as the Chapters Chairs coordinator, and as Society President (2016-2017). He is also a member of Phi Beta Delta and Tau Beta Pi.

Updated: May 21, 2018