• Gregory T. Sullivan, Silviu Chiricescu, Andre DeHon, Delphine Demange, Suraj Iyer, Alexsey Kliger, Greg Morrisett, Benjamin C. Pierce, Howard Rubenstein, Jonathan M. Smith, Arun Thomas, Jesse Tov, Christoper M. White, and David Wittenberg, SAFE: A Clean-Slate Architecture for Secure Systems, in Proc. IEEE International Conference on Technologies for Homeland Security (November 2013), pp. 570-576.
  • John Sonchack, Adam J. Aviv, and Jonathan M. Smith, Bridging the Data Gap: Data Related Challenges in Evaluating Large Scale Collaborative Security Systems, in Proc. USENIX Workshop on Cyber Security Experimentation and Test (CSET) (August 2013).
  • Tom Anderson, Ken Birman, Robert Broberg, Matthew Caesar, Douglas Comer, Chase Cotton, Michael J. Freedman, Andreas Haeberlen, Zachary G. Ives, Arvind Krishnamurthy, William Lehr, Boon Thau Loo, David Mazieres, Antonio Nicolosi, Jonathan M. Smith, Ion Stoica, Robbert van Renesse, Michael Walfish, Hakim Weatherspoon, and Christopher S. Yoo, The NEBULA Future Internet Architecture, in Future Internet Assembly 2013, ed. Alex Galis and Anastasius Gavras, Springer-Verlag (May 8th, 2013). DOI 10.1007/978-3-642-38082-2_2.
  • Albert Kwon, Udit Dhawan, Jonathan Smith, Thomas Knight, and Andre DeHon, Low-Fat Pointers: Compact Encoding and Efficient Gate-Level Implementation of Fat Pointers for Spatial Safety and Capability-Based Security, in Proc. ACM CCS (2013).
  • Yan Grunenberger and Jonathan M. Smith, Observations from the 2012 Mobile World Congress in Barcelona, ACM SIGCOMM Computer Communications Review 43(1), pp. 43-45 (January 2013).


  • Adam J. Aviv, Benjamin Sapp, Matthew Blaze, and Jonathan M. Smith, Practicality of Accelerometer Side-Channels on Smartphones, in Proceedings, ACM Annual Computer Security Applications Conference (ACSAC), Orlando, FL (December 3-7, 2012), pp. 41-50.
  • Udit Dhawan, Albert Kwon, Edin Kadric, Catalin Hritcu, Benjamin C. Pierce, Jonathan M. Smith, Andre DeHon, Gregory Malecha, Greg Morrisett, Thomas F. Knight, Jr., Andrew Sutherland, Tom Hawkins, Amanda Zyxnfryx, David Wittenberg, Peter Trei, Sumit Ray, and Greg Sullivan, Hardware Support for Safety Interlocks and Introspection, in Proc. Workshop on Adaptive Host and Network Security at 6th International Conference on Self- Adaptive and Self-Organizing Systems, Lyon, FR (September 14th, 2012).
  • Adam J. Aviv, Micah Sherr, Matt Blaze, and Jonathan M. Smith, Privacy-Aware Message Exchanges for Geographically Routed Human Movement Networks, in Proc. European Symposium on Research in Computer Security (ESORICS), Pisa, IT (September 10-14, 2012), pp. 181-198.
  • S. Clark, C. Wacek, M. Blaze, B. Loo, M. Sherr, C. Shields, and J. Smith, Collaborative Red Teaming for Anonymity System Evaluation, in Proc. USENIX Workshop on Cyber Security Experimentation and Test (CSET) (August 2012).
  • S. Clark, M. Blaze, and J. Smith, The Casino and the OODA Loop: Why our protocols always fail, in Security Protocols XX, ed. Bruce Christianson, James Malcolm, Frank Stajano, and Jonathan Anderson, Springer (2012), pp. 60-63. (Roger Needham Award)
  • Brian A. Arnold, Lawrence J. Delaney, Collin A. Agee, Melani Austin, Thomas J. Burns, Pamela A. Drew, Rand Fisher, Keith R. Hall, Leslie F. Kenne, Robert H. Latiff, Terry P. Lewis, Michael A. Longoria, Paul McManamon, Matt Mleviza, Gerald F. Perryman, Jr., and Jonathan M. Smith, Examination of the Air Force Intelligence, Surveillance and Reconnaissance (ISR) Capability and Planning and Analysis Process, The National Academies Press, Washington, DC (2012).
  • Yun Mao, Boon Thau Loo, Zachary Ives, and Jonathan M. Smith, MOSAIC: Unified Declarative Platform for Dynamic Overlay Composition (Extended Version), Computer Networks 56(1), pp. 64-84 (2012). DOI 10.1145/1544012.154401.
  • Matvey Arye, Robert Kiefer, Kyle Super, Erik Nordstrom, Michael J. Freedman, Eric Keller, Tom Rondeau, and Jonathan M. Smith, Increasing network resilience through edge diversity in NEBULA, ACM SIGMOBILE Mobile Computing and Communications Review 16(3), pp. 14-20 (July 2012). DOI 10.1145/2412096.2412099.

2011 and earlier